Theatre Society Legacy Fund Bursary

For formal arts programs at a CRA-recognized post-secondary institution in Canada or internationally.

Bursaries of up to $2,000 each are available for students who have graduated or plan to graduate this year from a high school (public or private) in the Tri-Cities region (Anmore, Belcarra, Coquitlam, Port Coquitlam and Port Moody).

Arts Bursary
The Theatre Society Legacy Fund – Arts Education Bursary is intended for a student enrolled at a CRA-recognized post-secondary institution in Canada or internationally in a formal arts program anywhere in the world. Arts is defined as a creative activity that expresses imaginative or technical skills. It produces a product or an object. The product/object of art is called a work of art for others to experience. It includes drawing, painting, sculpting, photography, digital art, performance art, dance, music, poetry, prose, theatre, and culinary arts.

Deadline Dates:

  • Annual Bursary Application Intake: February 20th – April 22nd
  • All applications are submitted online

Contact: [email protected]

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible to apply for the Theater Society Legacy Fund (TSLF) Arts Education Bursary, you must meet the following requirements:

  • must have graduated from one of the Eligible Secondary Institutions in the Tri-Cities – see list below
  • must be enrolled in an undergraduate program OR any year of a post-graduate program at a recognized post-secondary institution in a formal arts program anywhere in the world
  • demonstrate academic merit and financial need
  • include a short essay (max 500 words) Arts – Why This Is My Future
  • include a summary of your previous and current involvement in Arts (max 300 words)
  • have not received the TSLF Arts Bursary during the last academic year


  • mature or returning students are eligible to apply provided they meet the other eligibility criteria
  • applicants do not have to be current residents of the Tri-Cities area but must have graduated from a secondary school in the Tri-Cities region (see the list of eligible secondary schools)

Eligible Secondary Institutions

  • Archbishop Carney Regional Secondary School
  • British Columbia Christian Academy
  • CABE
  • Centennial Secondary
  • Charles Best Secondary
  • Gleneagles Secondary
  • Heritage Woods Secondary
  • Inquiry Hub Secondary School
  • L’école des Pionniers de Maillardville
  • Pinetree Secondary
  • Port Moody Secondary
  • Riverside Secondary
  • Su’walkh Secondary School
  • Terry Fox Secondary

Paper or email applications are not accepted. Email info@pocofoundation if you have issues accessing the online application form. See the resources below for a PDF version of the application questions.